Home » Updates – 2002

Updates – 2002

Whey in Tim Hortons Products Free of Animal Rennet

(December 20, 2002) eat-halal.com has learned that the whey in Tim Hortonsproducts is not made using animal rennet. eat-halal.com decided to look into the matter after a concerned Muslim inquired about the whey in Tim Horton’s hot chocolate. Whey is the watery part of milk that separates from the curd when milk sours and becomes coagulated, or when cheese is made. Whey made using rennet from non-Zabihah animals should be avoided by Muslims. (Web posted 12.20.02 @ 5.26 pm)

 Tim Hortons: (888) 601-1616   |   Web: timhortons.com

No Animal Rennet, Pepsin in Our Compliments Brick Cheeses

(December 15, 2002) eat-halal.com has learned that Our Compliments brand brick cheeses are free of animal-derived ingredients such as animalrennet and pepsin. Please keep in mind that this does not apply to sliced and other types of cheese. Our Compliments products are available at stores owned by Sobeys Inc. such as IGA,  Price Chopper, Bonichoix, Knechtel and Foodland. (Web posted 12.15.02 @ 12.51 am)

 Sobeys Inc.: (888) 821-5557    |   Web: sobeys.com

Animal Fat in Peek Freans Shortcake Cookies

(December 9, 2002) eat-halal.com has discovered that Peek Freans Shortcake Cookies contain beef fat. The discovery was made when the cookies were given out as a snack on a recent WestJet flight. Other Peek Freans cookies contain whey, and the source of the rennet used in the production of the whey is not clear. Products containing fat from Haram or non-Zabihah animals must be avoided by Muslims. (Web posted 12.09.02 @ 9.37 pm)

 Nabisco Ltd.: (800) 668-2253   |   Web: nabisco.ca

No Animal Ingredients or Alcohol in Tic Tacs

(December 2, 2002) eat-halal.com was recently asked to look into Tic Tac mints. A spokesperson for Ferrero Canada, the company that imports the product, has confirmed that Tic Tacs do not contain any animal-derived ingredients, nor do they contain any alcohol. Based on this information, there is no problem for Muslims in consuming Tic Tacs. (Web posted 12.02.02 @ 11.51 pm)

 Ferrero Canada(416) 590-0775 

Information on Whey in Krispy Kreme Doughnuts

(November 25, 2002) As reported earlier, only Krispy Kreme’s glazed doughnuts contain alcohol in their flavourings. It was also reported that some of the glaze-free doughnuts contain whey. eat-halal.com has now learned that animal rennet is not used in the production of the whey that is found in Krispy Kreme doughnuts. No animal-derived ingredients are used in Krispy Kreme doughnuts. (Web posted 11.25.02 @ 5.41 pm)

 Krispy Kreme: (800) 4KRISPY  |  Web: krispykreme.com

Only Krispy Kreme’s Glazed Doughnuts Contain Alcohol in Flavourings

(November 18, 2002)  It was previously reportedthat Krispy Kreme doughnuts contained alcohol in the flavourings, but no specific variety was mentioned. eat-halal.com has now learned that only Krispy Kreme’s glazed doughnuts contain alcohol in the flavourings. This means that Krispy Kreme’s glaze-free doughnuts such as the iced and powdered varieties do not contain any alcohol in their flavourings. However, some of the glaze-free doughnuts contain whey, and the source of the rennet used in the production of the whey remains to be researched.  (Web posted 11.18.02 @ 10.47 pm)

 Krispy Kreme: (800) 4KRISPY  |  Web: krispykreme.com

Pizza Pizza garlic sauce contains rennet

(November 12, 2002) A concerned Muslim has tipped off eat-halal.com to the fact that Pizza Pizza‘s garlic sauce contains rennet. A Pizza Pizza spokesperson has confirmed that the rennet is from an animal source. The rennet is present in the “natural parmesan cheese flavour” that is used in the sauce. For this reason, Pizza Pizza’s garlic sauce should be avoided.(Web posted 11.12.02 @ 6.12 pm)

 Pizza Pizza: (416) 236-1894  |  Web: pizzapizza.ca

Avoid Ziggy’s International pizza crust 

(November 5, 2002) eat-halal.com was asked to look into the source of the l-cysteine found in Ziggy’s International make-at-home pizza kits. An investigation has found that the l-cysteine is derived from human hair. L-cysteine is an ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is made from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and synthetic materials. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram. For this reason, the above mentioned product should be avoided by Muslims.  (Web posted 11.05.02 @ 10.19 pm)

 Sunfresh Customer Service: (888) 495-5111 

Vitamin D3 in milk from sheep’s wool: supplier

(October 27, 2002) A recent rash of inquiries regarding the source of Vitamin D3 in milk led eat-halal.com to once again investigate the matter. A major supplier of Vitamin D3 in Canada was contacted. “The source of Vitamin D3, is from lanolin extracted from sheep’s wool grease. The lanolin is further processed, irradiated and purified to produce Vitamin D3,” said Stella LeCoure, Product Development Manager at Kingsway Chocolate Company Limited. Kingsway Chocolate is a supplier of Vitamin AD blends and Vitamin D3 premixes for the dairy industry to fortify skimmed milks, partly skimmed milks and homogenized milk. The company supplies approximately 95% of dairies in Canada. There is no problem with consuming milk enriched with Vitamin D3 from sheep’s wool.(Web posted 10.27.02 @ 9.36 am)

 Kingsway Chocolate: (877) 625-8401

Crest Whitestrips free of alcohol, animal ingredients

(October 20, 2002) eat-halal.com was recently asked to look into Procter & Gamble’s innovative teeth whitening system, Crest Whitestrips. According to the company’s customer service representatives, the product does not contain any alcohol or animal-derived ingredients. For this reason, we do not see any problem for Muslims in using the product.  (Web posted 10.20.02 @ 10.44 am)

 Procter & Gamble: (800) 668-0152  |  Web: whitestrips.com

Life brand Spectrum multi-vitamins free of gelatin

(October 13, 2002) eat-halal.com has found that Lifebrand Spectrum multi-vitamins do not contain gelatin anymore. However, a Shopper’s Drug Mart representative said that the Spectrum Forte 29 multi-vitamin still contains animal ingredients. When asked, she said that the animal-derived ingredient is gluten. But our experts tell us that gluten is obtained from cereals and not animals. eat-halal.com will continue to investigate this matter. (Web posted 10.13.02 @ 5.13 pm)

 Shopper’s Drug Mart: 1-800 SHOPPERS 

Beware of wine in PC garlic bread

(October 6, 2002) eat-halal.com has discovered that President’s ChoiceBake at Home garlic bread contains white wine. The bread is sold frozen and is meant to be baked at home. Wine is the alcohol made from grapes and must always be avoided by Muslims (Web posted 10.29.02 @ 3.29 pm)

 President’s Choice Customer Service: (888) 495-5111 

Watch out for gelatin in some Astro yogurts

(September 29, 2002) eat-halal.com has learned that some Astro brand yogurts contain gelatin. Gelatin, which is Haram if obtained from Haram or non-Zabihah animals, serves a number of useful functions in a yogurt product. It forms a creamier product and keeps the fruit suspended in the yogurt. It also serves as a bulking agent, reducing the calorie content, by replacing the yogurt with water. Since some Astro yogurts contain gelatin while some don’t, it is strongly suggested that Muslim consumers double-check the ingredients before buying any Astro yogurt product. (Web posted 09.29.02 @ 3.29 pm)

 Astro Dairy Products Co.: (416) 641-2947 

Rennet in La Vache Qui Rit and Kiri cheeses from non-animal source

(September 22, 2002) eat-halal.com has discovered that the rennet in La Vache Qui Rit (The Laughing Cow) cheese is from a non-animal source. A spokesperson for Bel, the cheese manufacturer, said that the product is manufactured in the United States instead of France (for the Canadian and US markets), and that no animal rennet or pepsin is used.Kiri cheese (which is also manufactured by Bel) is imported from France, and according to the spokesperson, it also does not contain any animal rennet or pepsin. (Web posted 09.22.02 @ 2.35 pm)

 Bel / Kaukauna USA: (800) 558-3500  |  Web: kaukaunacheese.com

Information on whey in No Name products

(September 15, 2002) A No Name / President’s Choice customer service representative has told eat-halal.com that although non-animal rennet is used in the production of whey found in their products, they cannot guarantee that this will be the case all the time. The suppliers have told them that they cannot give a 100% guarantee stating that animal rennet will never be used. The products in question cannot be labeled as Haram, however, it is advisable to exercise caution. (Web posted 09.15.02 @ 3.32 pm)

 No Name customer service: (888) 495-5111  |  Web:  loblaw.com

Information on infant formulas

(September 8, 2002) An investigation into infant formulas sold in Canada has found that all Similac  infant formula powders are free of animal-derived ingredients. Almost all Enfalac infant formula powders are also free of animal-derived ingredients. Only Enfalac Nutramigen®contains animal-derived ingredients and should therefore be avoided. (Web posted 09.08.02 @ 7.59 am)

 Enfalac: (800) 361-6323 | Web: enfalac.ca

 Similac: (800) 670-7878 | Web: abbott.ca

Information on new Burger King milkshakes

(September 1, 2002) A spokesman for Burger King Canada has told eat-halal.com that the new Burger King milkshakes contain whey. According to the spokesman, both microbial and animal rennet may be used in the production of this whey. The same also applies to the older Burger King milkshakes. For this reason, it is suggested that Burger King milkshakes in Canada be avoided by Muslims.  (Web posted 09.01.02 @ 5.48 pm)

 Burger King Canada: (877) 271-0493 

New information on Frito Lay products

(August 25, 2002) Frito Lay Canada has released a revised list of products containing animal related ingredients. However, the company’s public relations department has not yet given eat-halal.com the green light to post the original list on the web site. But a concerned Muslim has forwarded the list to eat-halal.com, and the following Frito Lay Canada products are listed as “products containing animal-related ingredients”:

  • DORITOS® Cool RanchJalapeno & Cheddar CheeseSmokey Red BBQ, and Zesty Cheese Flavoured Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® EXTREME Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavoured Tortilla Chips
  • MUNCHIES™ BBQ FlavouredSnack Mix; Original Beef andPepperoni Beef Sausage Stick
  • RUFFLES® The Works! Flavoured Potato Chips
  • SUNCHIPS® French Onion Flavoured Multigrain Snacks

The above-mentioned products contain animal ingredients and should be avoided by Muslims. (Web posted 08.25.02 @ 5.48 pm)

 Frito Lay Canada: (800) 376-2257  |  Web:  fritolay.ca

Better to avoid Harvey’s poutine

(August 17, 2002) Harvey’s has told eat-halal.com that their poutine has two different ingredients: one for Harvey’s restaurants in Quebec and one for Harvey’s restaurants outside of Quebec. The cheese used in the poutine in sold Quebec contains rennet and its source is currently being investigated. The gravy in the poutine sold outside of Quebec contains beef fat, and should therefore be avoided. Poutine is a French-Canadian concoction comprised of french fries, gravy, and cheese curds.  (Web posted 08.17.02 @ 10.49 am)

 Harvey’s: (800) 860-4082  |  Web:  harveys.ca

Rennet in Sara Lee cheesecakes not from animals

(August 11, 2002) eat-halal.com recently discovered that Sara Lee cheesecakes contain rennet. When contacted, a Sara Lee spokeperson said that the rennet was from a non-animal source. She also stated that all Kosher certified Sara Lee cheesecakes and layer cakes are free of animal ingredients. The products carry the KVH Kosher symbol (a K, V, and H in a rectangle). Sara Lee cakes are available in the freezer section of most supermarkets. (Web posted 08.11.02 @ 4.27 pm)

 Sara Lee Bakery: (800) 323-7117  |  Web:  saraleebakery.com

L-cysteine in No Name english muffins Haram 

(August 4, 2002) An eat-halal.com investigation into No Name english muffins has found that the l-cysteine in the product is from human hair. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram and therefore the product should be avoided. L-cysteine is an ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is often used in pizza crusts, pita breads and in bagels. It is made from human hair, feathers (from chickens and ducks) and synthetic materials. Synthetic and chicken/duck feather L-cysteine is Halal and may be consumed. (Web posted 08.04.02 @ 4.27 pm)

 No Name customer service: (888) 495-5111  |  Web:  loblaw.com

Halal certified ice cream and yogurt now in Alberta and BC

(July 28, 2002) Happy Days Goat Dairy of Salmon Arm, British Columbia, is bringing its Halal certified products to the Alberta and BC markets. The following products manufactured by the company have been certified Halal by the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA):

  • Goat Milk Yogurt, 500 g container (plain)
  • Goat Milk Yogurt, 500 g container (strawberry)
  • Light Goat Milk Ice Cream, 1 liter container (vanilla)
  • Light Goat Milk Ice Cream, 1 liter container (strawberry)

The above-mentioned products display the IFANCA Halal symbol (a crescent with the letter ‘M’) on the labels. The Halal yogurt and ice cream products are available at Overwaitea/SaveOn Foods (in the health food section), Choices, and Caper’s. These products are among the first Halal certified non-meat products to be manufactured and sold in Canada. (Web posted 07.28.02 @ 6.21 pm)

 Happy Days Goat Dairy: (250) 832-0209  |  Web:  goatcheesecanada.com

 IFANCA: (773) 283-3708  |  Web:  ifanca.org

L-cysteine in No Name English Muffins

(July 21, 2002) eat-halal.com has learned that most No Name brand English Muffins contain l-cysteine. As reported earlier, l-cysteine is Haram if it is derived from human hair. eat-halal.com is currently looking into the matter and for the time being, it is suggested that the product be avoided. L-cysteine is often used in bakery products and could be made from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and synthetic materials. No Name products are sold exclusively at supermarkets owned by grocery giant Loblaw Companies Limited.

 No Name Customer Service: (800) 296-2332  |  Web:  loblaw.com

Colgate Dental Gum found to contain gelatin

(July 14, 2002) eat-halal.com has discovered thatColgate Dental Gum contains gelatin. The presence of gealtin is listed on the package, however, it is often easily overlooked due to small print. Other brands of dental gum were found to be free of gelatin. Dental gums are available in most pharmacies. (Web posted 07.14.02 @ 5.45 pm)

 Colgate-Palmolive Canada: (800) 268-6757  |  Web:  colgate.ca

Information on McDonald’s new McVeggie Burger

(July 7, 2002) McDonald’s new McVeggie Burger™ in Canada is free of wine and animal ingredients. According to a McDonald’s representative, the burgers are cooked on the same grill as other meat products, however, the meat and vegetarian burgers are cooked in separate batches and the grill is cleaned between batches. But McDonald’s is quick to point out that during preparation, the McVeggie Burger™ may come in contact with meat and/or chicken products. Also, the new Fruit’n Yogurt Parfait™ at McDonald’s Canada contains gelatin, and should be avoided by Muslims.(Web posted 07.07.02 @ 4.05 pm)

 McDonald’s Canada: (416) 446-3932  |  Web:  mcdonalds.ca

Whey in Campbell’s cream soups contains animal rennet

(June 30, 2002) eat-halal.com has come to know from a concerned Muslim that Campbell’s cream soups contain whey. When asked about the source of the rennet used in the production of the whey, a Campbell’s Soup spokesperson said that it was from an animal source. For this reason, Muslims in Canada are advised to avoid Campbell’s cream soups.  (Web posted 06.30.02 @ 4.27 pm)

 Campbell’s Soup Canada: (800) 410-7687  |  Web:  campbellsoup.ca

Little Caesars cheese, dough, and sauce Halal 

(June 23, 2002) eat-halal.com has learned that the dough, sauce, and cheese used in Little Caesars pizzas are Halal. No animal ingredients are used and the dough does not contain L-cysteine. However, please note that we strongly discourage Muslims from eating at non-Muslim restaurants, due to the high risk of contamination by dirty utensils, unwashed hands/gloves, mishandling, and human error. (Web posted 06.23.02 @ 4.27 pm)

 Little Caesars: (800) 7-CAESAR  |  Web:  littlecaesars.com

No wine in Canadian BK Veggie Burger – for now

(June 16, 2002) Burger King Canada has told eat-halal.com that unlike its American counterpart, the Canadian BK Veggie Burger does not contain wine or any other alcohol-related ingredient. However, this is expected to change in the next little while. According to the company, the wine-free BK Veggie Burger sold in Canada will be replaced by the wine-containing BK Veggie Burger within the next couple of months. (Web posted 06.16.02 @ 3.24 pm) 

 Burger King Canada: (877) 271 0493

 Burger King US: (305) 378-3535  |  Web:  burgerking.com

Chee-tos Crunchits may contain animal rennet and pepsin outdated

(June 9, 2002) eat-halal.com has learned that Chee-tosCrunchits cheese snack could contain animal rennet andpepsin. As a result, the product should be avoided. Other types of Chee-tos cheese snacks are reportedly free of animal-derived ingredients. According to the information on the manufacturer’s web site (www.fritolay.ca), Chee-tos Crunchits are available only in Atlantic Canada. The manufacturer, Hostess Frito-Lay, may be reached at (800) 376-2257. (Web posted 06.09.02 @ 6.02 pm)

No hidden pork-derived ingredients in products: Kellogg’s Canada

(June 3, 2002) On April 29, 2002, the Gulf Newsreported that Kellogg’s products were recently pulled off the shelves of some supermarkets in the U.A.E. The decision was made after lab tests were done on the products and it was discovered that the products contained pork elements.  Kellogg’s Canada representatives have reassured eat-halal.com that there are no hidden pork ingredients in their Canadian products. Gelatin from pork and beef is used in some of their products, but its presence is clearly stated in the ingredients declaration. Kellogg’s Canada may be contacted at (888) 876-3750. (Web posted 06.03.02 @ 6.17 pm)

Beef stock in Doritos Extreme Cheddar and Sour Cream flavour

(May 26, 2002) It has been brought to our attention by a concerned Muslim that the new Doritos brand Extreme Cheddar and Sour Cream tortilla chips contain beef stock. The beef stock is an ingredient in the seasoning which is contained in the product. Since the beef stock is from non-Zabihah animals, the product should be avoided by Muslims. Hostess Frito-Lay, the manufacturer of the product, may be reached at (800) 376-2257. (Web posted 05.26.02 @ 6.01 pm)

No animal derived ingredients in dough, sauce, cheese at 241 Pizza

(May 19, 2002)  241 Pizza has told eat-halal.com that the dough, sauce, and cheese used at the pizza chain are free of animal derived ingredients. The dough reportedly also does not contain any L-cysteine. Please note that we do not recommend that Muslims eat out in non-Muslim eateries, because of the possibility of contamination with Haram ingredients and dirty utensils.  241 Pizza is one of Canada’s largest pizza chain with 165 stores, and can be contacted at 1-877-241-0241. (Web posted 05.19.02 @ 6.29 pm)

Beware of gelatin in some Lactantia yogurts

(May 12, 2002) eat-halal.com has discovered that some Lactantia brand yogurts contain gelatin. The yogurts are available in different flavours, including plain and various fruit flavours. Some of them contain gelatin while some don’t. For this reason, we’d like Muslim shoppers to be careful when purchasing Lactantia yogurts. Gelatin is an odorless, tasteless, protein substance like glue or jelly, obtained by boiling the bones, hoofs, and other waste parts of animals. There is no problem with consuming gelatin if it is from a Halal, Zabihah animal.  (Web posted 05.12.02 @ 10.44 am)

L-cysteine in Famosa pizza crust from human hair

(May 5, 2002) Molinaro’s Fine Italian Food has told eat-halal.com that the L-cysteine in their Famosa pizza crust is from human hair. L-cysteine is an ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is made from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and synthetic materials. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram. For this reason, the above mentioned product should be avoided by Muslims. Molinaro’s Fine Italian Food may be reached at (800) 268-4959. (Web posted 05.05.02 @ 1.43 pm)

‘Most of our flavorings contain alcohol’: Krispy Kreme

(April 28, 2002) On January 27, 2002, eat-halal.com reported that although Krispy Kreme had told us that their doughnuts do not contain any animal ingredients, they wouldn’t tell us if the flavourings contained alcohol or not. At the time, our sources told us that it was probable that the flavourings contained alcohol. Now, eat-halal.com has received an e-mail that was sent by Krispy Kreme in response to a question by a concerned Muslim. In the e-mail, Krispy Kreme admits that “most of our flavorings contain alcohol”. For this reason, we advise Muslims to avoid Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Krispy Kreme operates 221 stores in the United States, and recently opened its first Canadian location in Mississauga, Ontario. The company may be contacted through its web site at http://www.krispykreme.com. (Web posted 04.28.02 @ 10.41 am)

No animal ingredients in most Pfizer gums in Canada

(April 21, 2002) Pfizer Canada has told eat-halal.com that their TridentMaxairCerts, andClorets brands of gums in Canada are free of animal ingredients. The above-mentioned products are also reportedly free of alcohol-based flavourings. The company also manufactures Bubblicious and Chiclets, but no information was given regarding these products. Pfizer Canada may be contacted at (800) 661-4659. (Web posted 04.14.02 @ 6.14 pm)

Beware of L-cysteine from human hair

(April 14, 2002) eat-halal.com would like to warn Muslim consumers about L-cysteine. L-cysteine is an ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is often used in pizza crusts, pita breads and in bagels. It is made from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and synthetic materials. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram and must always be avoided. Synthetic and chicken/duck feather L-cysteine is Halal and may be consumed. eat-halal.com has also learned that some Canadian Pizza Hut items contain L-cysteine from duck feathers. Domino’s pizza dough also contain L-cysteine, but the source is unknown. Pizza Hut may be contacted at (800) 363-1601 and Domino’s may be reached at (888) DOMINOS. (Web posted 04.14.02 @ 6.14 pm)

Information regarding Cadbury and Hershey chocolate bars

(April 7, 2002) Cadbury Trebor Allan andHershey Canada have told eat-halal.com that most of their chocolate bars are free of animal ingredients. The only Cadbury Trebor Allan product which contains animal ingredients is Neilson Malted Milk. It contains gelatin and this was reported in our update dated March 17, 2002. All other Cadbury chocolates (including Neilson brand chocolates) are free of animal ingredients and alcohol in flavourings. Some Hershey chocolates in Canada contain gelatin, and this is listed in the ingredients declaration. No other animal ingredients or alcohol-based flavourings are used in Hershey chocolates in Canada. Cadbury Trebor Allen may be reached at (800) 268-1624 and Hershey Canada can be contacted at (800) 468-1714. (Web posted 04.07.02 @ 5.14 pm)

Beware of animal ingredients in sauces and gravies

(March 31, 2002) eat-halal.com would like to warn Muslim consumers of the fact that many sauces and gravies contain animal ingredients. Many brands of canned, liquid sauces and gravies (such as Hamburger Sauce, Poutine Gravy, Sandwich Sauce, Steak Sauce, etc.) were found to contain ingredients such as chicken broth, chicken fat, beef fat, and so on. Some sauce and gravy mixes were also found to contain these types of ingredients. For this reason, we advise Muslims to pay special attention to the ingredients when buying sauces and gravies. (Web posted 03.31.02 @ 11.35 am)

KFC chicken, Pizza Hut in Muslim countries Halal

(March 24, 2002) After contacting Tricon Restaurants International, eat-halal.com has learned that all chickens served at KFC outlets in Muslim countries are Zabihah, and all Pizza Hutpizzas in Muslim markets are Halal. All KFC chickens labeled “certified Halal” in Muslim countries are slaughtered by Muslims by reciting Bismillah-Allah-hu-Akbar during the process. Birds are slaughtered manually and not mechanically. Concerns have been raised in the past regarding KFC chickens in Muslim countries, and hopefully this information will put those concerns to rest. Tricon Restaurants International can be reached at (972) 338-8100. (Web posted 03.24.02 @ 2.33 pm)

Neilson Malted Milk contains gelatin 

(March 17, 2002) eat-halal.com would like to advise all Muslims of the fact that Neilson Malted Milk contains gelatin, and should therefore be avoided. Gelatin is an odorless, tasteless, protein substance like glue or jelly, obtained by boiling the bones, hoofs, and other waste parts of animals. Gelatin from Haram and non-Zabihah animals should always be avoided by Muslims.

Alcohol in flavourings of most Chapman’s products

(March 9, 2002) David Chapman’s Ice Cream has toldeat-halal.com that the flavourings in most of their products contain alcohol. All Chapman’s Ice Cream products contain alcohol in their flavourings except for the following products:

  • Orange Pineapple (2L Square)
  • Tiger Tail (2L Square)
  • Grape Nut (2L Square)
  • Rainbow (2L and 4L Square)
  • Raspberry Frozen Yogurt (2L Round)
  • Mixed Berry Frozen Yogurt (2L Round)
  • Orange Sorbet (2L Round)

For this reason, all Chapman’s Ice Cream products, except for the ones listed above, should be avoided by Muslims. Chapman’s can be contacted at (519) 986-3131. (Web posted 03.09.02 @ 7.01 pm)

Lard, beef tallow in some Chevalier cakes

(March 5, 2002) eat-halal.com would like to warn Canadian Muslim consumers of the fact that someChevalier cakes, manufactured by Patisserie Chevalier, contain lard and beef tallow. Before buying Chevalier cakes, please take special note of the ingredients, since not all Chevalier cakes contain lard and beef tallow. Patisserie Chevalier can be reached at (819) 537-8807. (Web posted 03.05.02 @ 4.57 pm)

Almost all Wrigley gums in Canada free of animal ingredients

(February 26, 2002) The Consumer Affairs Administrator at Wrigley Canada has confirmed to eat-halal.com that almost all Wrigley gums sold in Canada are free of animal ingredients. Only Extra Polar Ice (not to be confused with ExcelPolar Ice) contains gelatin and should be avoided. All other Wrigley gums in Canada are free of animal ingredients. Wrigley Canada manufactures many brands (including Juicy FruitBig Red, and Freedent) and can be contacted at (416) 449-8600.

(Web posted 02.26.02 @ 10.13 pm)

Beef tallow may be present in McCain Superquick fries

(February 20, 2002) eat-halal.com would like to alert all Muslims in Canada of the fact that McCain Superquick fries may contain beef tallow. The fries, which are manufactured by McCain Foods (Canada) of Florenceville, New Brunswick, are available at the freezer section of most Canadian supermarkets. The beef tallow used in the fries comes from animals which are not slaughtered according to Islamic Law, and as a result, the product should be avoided by all Muslims. McCain Foods (Canada) can be contacted through http://www.mccain.ca . (Web posted 02.20.02 @ 6.58 pm)

Flavourings in Laura Secord ice creams free of alcohol

(February 11, 2002) eat-halal.com was asked to look into Laura Secordice creams to find out whether or not any alcohol is being used in the flavourings. Laura Secord told eat-halal.com that the flavourings used in their ice creams do not contain any alcohol. Laura Secord has over 100 locations across Canada and can be reached at (800) 268-6353. (Web posted 02.11.02 @ 5.29 pm)

Swiss Knight, Gerber cheeses contain animal rennet

(February 3, 2002) A concerned Muslim in Beijing, China, tipped off eat-halal.com about the fact that cheeses manufactured by Swiss cheese maker Gerber Cheese Co. contain animal rennet. Gerber Cheese sells cheese under the ‘Swiss Knight’ and ‘Gerber’ brands. These products should be avoided by Muslims everywhere. Gerber Cheese Co. can be contacted at +41 (0)33 227 55 55. (Web posted 02.03.02 @ 3.58 pm)

No animal ingredients in Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, may contain alcohol in flavourings

(January 27, 2002) Krispy Kreme Doughnutshas told eat-halal.com that their doughnuts do not contain any animal ingredients. However, Krispy Kreme wouldn’t tell us if the flavourings contained any alcohol or not. Sources have told eat-halal.com that it is probable that the flavourings do contain alcohol. For this reason, we suggest that Krispy Kreme Doughnuts be avoided. Krispy Kreme Doughnuts recently opened its first location in Canada and can be contacted through its web site at http://www.krispykreme.com. (Web posted 01.27.02 @ 3.40 pm)

Most cheeses at Pizza Pizza now Haram

(January 19, 2002) Pizza Pizza has informed eat-halal.com that most of their cheeses now contain animal ingredients. The Feta and Parmesan cheeses, along with the X-treme cheese topping, all contain animal ingredients. Feta and Parmesan cheeses are used on the gourmet pizzas. The only cheese which does not contain animal ingredients is the mozzarella cheese. Mozzarella cheese is the only cheese which is used on the cheese pizzas. Pizza Pizza can be contacted at (416) 236-1894. (Web posted 01.19.02 @ 3.45 pm)

Some Second Cup items may be Haram

(January 13, 2002) eat-halal.com has discovered that some items at Second Cup may contain gelatin, lard, and other Haram ingredients. We suggest that Muslims avoid eating products at Second Cup for the time being, until we get further information. The investigation continues. (Web posted 01.13.02 @ 3.09 pm)

McDonald’s Filet-o-Fish now fried in separate oil Outdated

 (January 5, 2002) eat-halal.com has learned that the fish in the Filet-o-Fish at McDonald’s Canada is now fried in its separate oil. It used to be fried in the same oil in which Chicken McNuggets were fried. Since the McNuggets – which are from chickens that are not slaughtered according to Islamic Law – were fried in the oil, the oil was considered contaminated. But since that is not the case anymore, there seems to be no problem with the fish in the Filet-o-Fish sandwiches. However, the cheese must still be avoided, because it may contain animal ingredients. The Filet-o-Fish may be ordered without the cheese. Please note that we strongly advise that Muslims avoid eating food from non-Muslim restaurants, due to the high risk of contamination by dirty utensils, unwashed hands/gloves, mishandling, and human error. McDonald’s Canada may be contacted at (416) 446 3932. (Web posted 01.05.02 @ 10.35 pm)