Home » Kosher


Kosher is from the Hebrew word kashér (כָּשֵׁר), which means “fit” and “proper” (in this context, fit for consumption). Kosher foods is a term that is used for food that Jews are permitted to eat and conform to the regulations of dietary laws kashrut (Jewish dietary law) that are derived from passages in the biblical books of Leviticus and Deuteronomy.

Food that is not in accordance with Jewish law is called treif (Yiddish: טרײף or treyf, derived from Hebrew טְרֵפָה trēfáh).

Some examples of kosher foods are found in the books of Leviticus 11:1-47 and Deuteronomy 14: 3-20, there are also certain kosher rules in there. Why certain foods cannot be classed as kosher include the presence of ingredients derived from non-kosher animals or from kosher animals that were not slaughtered in the ritually proper manner, a mixture of meat and milk, wine, or grape juice (or their derivatives) produced without supervision, the use of produce from Israel that has not been tithed, or the use of non-kosher cooking utensils and machinery.

The Torah lists winged creatures which may not be consumed, mainly birds of prey, fish-eating water-birds, and bats. Leviticus and Deuteronomy state that anything residing in “the waters” (seas and rivers) is ritually clean only if it has both fins and scales

Leviticus states that every creeping thing that crawls the earth is unclean (Hebrew: sheqets). However, a bug born inside a fruit may be eaten if it has never crawled on the ground. All “flying creeping things” are also considered ritually unclean, according to both Leviticus and Deuteronomy. Leviticus lists four exceptions, including locusts.

Kosher Passover

Kosher meal approved by the Beth din of Johannesburg

Some elements of Jewish and Islamic dietary laws are common, while some are not. Here are some major differences:

Products Kosher Halal
Blessing on animals
For more information, please visit Zahibah
Blessing before entering slaughtering area,
not on each animal
Blessing on each animal
while slaughtering
Gelatin from:Dry Bones

Skin and Bones




From Kosher animals

Kosher fish only

Allowed by some liberal orthodox rabbis

Halal bones only

From Halal animals

Any fish

Not allowed at all

Alcohol Permitted, depending on source Not permitted
Combining Dairy & Meat Not permitted Not an issue
Special Occasion Additional restrictions during
Same rules apply all the

From an article by Dr. M. Riaz, Texas A & M University; minor adjustments by www.eat-halal.com

It must be noted that if a product is Kosher certified, it does not mean that the product is automatically Halal. While it is true that Kosher certification
can be used as a tool for eating halal, one must be very careful. There are Kosher certification agencies which certify products and ingredients which are not considered Kosher by many Jews.

NOTE: External links will open in a new window. External sites and the information provided by them are not endorsed by eat-halal.com.

*** Want this information in a presentable, printable format for distribution or posting? Check out our ‘Publications section.