Is lecithin in general haram except soya lecithin if it’s not defined in the ingredients that it is from soya then should it be avoided?
Lecithin is any one of a group of fatty substances found in plant or animal tissues. Lecithin is obtained especially from egg yolk, soybeans, and corn. Lecithin is composed of nitrogen and phosphorus and is found especially in nerve cells and brain tissue.
Lecithin should generally be avoided, but it should be stressed that soy lecithin is the most common type of lecithin used commercially in food products nowadays.