Questions & AnswersCategory: Confectories & SweetsIs a candy called Starburst halal?
Halal Seeker asked 3 years ago

My sister was wondering about whether or not some of the candy that is in the market now are halal. One particular type she was unsure of is a candy called Starburst. Apparently, it has gelatin in it, but one of her friends informed her that it was vegetable gelatin, not pig. I was hoping you could clarify this for us. We really appreciate your help. S. A., Ontario, Canada

1 Answers
Moderator Staff answered 3 years ago

We contacted Effem Foods, the manufacturer of Starburst, and they told us that the gelatin in Starburst is from a 100% animal source. For this reason, Starburst with gelatin should be avoided. At last check, Starburst Jelly Beans and Fruit Twists did not contain gelatin. (Web posted 06.03.02 @ 6.18 pm)