Questions & AnswersCategory: BakeryI want to know if the ingredient Vanillin is haram or halal?
Halal Seeker asked 4 years ago

I have a question about an ingredient. I want to know if the ingredient Vanillin is haram or halal. I also want to know if the ingredient ethyl vanillin is halal or haram.
The ingredients that are mentioned above are in a product which is called Imitation Vanilla Flavor.
I use this in baking. A.M.

1 Answers
Best Answer
Moderator Staff answered 4 years ago

Vanillin and ethyl vanillin are flavourings present in vanilla beans. In their powdered form they do not contain alcohol.
In current practice, most of the vanillin and ethyl vanillin is produced synthetically; however, the food companies may also dissolve them in alcohol before they are used in the food items.
We have forwarded this portfolio (regarding alcohol) to the Canadian Council of Muslim Theologians (Ulema Council) and are awaiting their reply. (Web posted 09.16.04 @ 9.13 pm EDT)