Questions & AnswersCategory: BeveragesI am asking if you know if Ginger Beer is Halal?
Halal Seeker asked 3 years ago

I am asking if you know if Ginger Beer is Halal. I don’t know please tell me.

2 Answers
Best Answer
Moderator Staff answered 3 years ago

According to the Merriam-Websters dictionary, a sweetened carbonated non-alcoholic beverage heavily flavoured with ginger or capsicum or both. Since there is no alcohol, it should be Halal if there are no other Haram ingredients present. (Web posted 07.23.03 @ 10.30 pm EDT)

Mohammed Jamal answered 2 years ago

Asalamu Aleykum, 
From a company that brews Ginger beer beverages says the following:  
“All Bundaberg Brewed Drinks naturally brewed products contain minute residual traces of alcohol. Our manufacturing process uses natural yeast which feed on sugars and ferments the ‘brew’ to be used as a base for our beverages. Alcohol is a by-product of this fermentation process. Comes out with an 0.5% amount of alcohol” 
The legal level allowable in(Australia) a soft drink for it to be labelled as a non alcoholic beverage is 0.5%. We promote all of our beverages as a soft drink which is an acceptable alternative to intoxicating beverages. For further confirmation you may find information regarding Non Alcoholic Beverages in Food Standard 2.6.2 on”
So although it may be labelled non-alcoholic, care must be taken to make sure it really is!
So considering all these, and from sources such as follows:, it must be announced that if it is processed by fermentation similar to the company above it is haram! 
Allah SWT and his Prophet knows best!