Questions & Answers › Category: Dairy › How can whey be Haram if it comes from dairy. 1 Vote Up Vote Down Halal Seeker asked 3 years ago I thought that whey was a product of milk. If I have got this wrong could you please tell me how this substance is Haram. Question Tags: Milk, Whey 1 Answers 1 Vote Up Vote Down Best Answer Moderator Staff answered 3 years ago Whey is a by-product of the cheese industry. The enzymes used to curd the milk for cheese (i.e. pepsin, rennet, etc.) are present in the whey as well. For this reason, we advise caution in consuming whey.