Questions & AnswersCategory: Branded ProductsAre Smarties Halal or Haram?
ilovehalal asked 3 years ago

Can you please let me know if smarties are halal or haram? Jzk

2 Answers
Best Answer
MuslimConsumers answered 3 years ago

Assalamo Alaikum Wr Wb!
Even though Smarties (Smarties, Mini Smarties, Smarties Block 120g ) in the UK are vegetarian as per their list: http://www.nestle.co.uk/asset-library/documents/nutritionhealthwellness/vegetarian%20avoidance%20list.pdf
but Nestle have confirmed that Smarties are not halal due to the fact that Red Carmine is used in the Red coloured Smarties. 
Ingredients: MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, MODIFIED MILK INGREDIENTS, COCOA BUTTER, UNSWEETENED CHOCOLATE, LACTOSE, SOYA LECITHIN, POLYGLYCEROL POLYRICINOLEATE, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOUR), SUGAR, WHEAT FLOUR, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, CARNAUBA WAX, COLOUR
Nestle also stated that Generally alcohol is used during the production process.
Generally alcohol is used in the preparation of flavourings or colourings or used is as a carrier.
At present Nestle have not confirmed any further.
Jzk Khair! & Best regards

zxf answered 3 years ago

Actually in 2012, the colourings were replaced including carmine/cochineal. New colourings include red cabbage (which now colours the red ones), lemon, hibiscus, safflower and radish.