Home » Cooking

Cooking

When cooking a halal meal, one much bear in mind there not all ingredients are halal by nature, and one must not take them for granted. When in doubt, leave out! You can replace the ingredients that might be substitutes.

Ingredients Substitutes

Please read this important note first!

Almond Extract

Bacon

Bourbon

Dry Vermouth

Fat

Frog Legs

Gelatin

Lard

Pork

Rennet

Rum

Rum Extract

Sherry

Sweet Sherry

Vanilla Extract

Wine

Did you know…?

There are vanilla extracts made without alcohol. Often these are found at natural/organic food stores or fancier grocery stores. Or they could be purchased online:

Should you find someone selling alcohol free vanilla products, please let us know so we can place them here.

One can also buy vanilla powder, or buy vanilla beans, which you can put pieces of as you warm milk-based products (such as a custard) or you can store in your sugar container.

Note: Pages will open in a new browser window. External sites are not endorsed by eat-halal.com .

Couldn’t find the ingredient you were looking for? Requesta subsitute for an ingredient.